Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: need a new card

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Age
    35
    Posts
    89

    need a new card

    even though this forum hasnt had a post in 2 months.... i just got a new job and will have a substantial cash increase. so i wanna do a big upgrade. i've been reading reviews on the latest flagships from both parties, and i like the price of of the amd/ati HD2900 xt, but i like the performance of the nvidia 8800 GTS. so it comes to the users. what are you guys using, and what do you think in your opinion is a good price to performance. i'm not lookin to spend much more than $400. $500 if it's worth it.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    2,763
    I use dual 8800gts 640MB sli, on a C2D at 3.1Ghz, but they are still processor limmited even at 3.1

    Running sli made them both slower at 2.1 GHz due to the lack of processing power. .

    The 8800ultra R a big robot and need a Big GHz...

    I have an extra 8800gts that I need to sell.
    You got PM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    192.168.10.100
    Age
    33
    Posts
    4,486
    Dude...HD4850. Period. End of Discussion.....Want more? AIM me or post back.

    <$200...

    Here is enough reason: http://forums.techpowerup.com/showpo...0&postcount=56
    "Best to keep your mouth shut and be thought a fool than to open your mouth and remove all doubt."

    "Honesty is the First Chapter in the Book of Wisdom" - Thomas Jefferson

    Desktop:
    AMD Phenom II x6 1100T @ 3.3Ghz
    MSi 890FXA-GD70
    16GB G.Skill DDR3-1600
    Asus HD6950 2GB GDDR5 PCI-Ex16
    4x 1.5TB WD SATA w/64MB cache in RAID10
    2x Asus 22x DVD/CD +/-RW DL SATA
    Rosewill Xtreme Series 950W PSU
    2x 23" 5ms Asus Widescreen LCD
    Laptop:
    15" Aluminum MacBook Pro
    Intel Core 2 Duo 2.53Ghz
    4GB DDR3 @ 1067MHz
    320GB SATA 7200RPM HDD

    **View My Forum**

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    2,763
    amazing!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    192.168.10.100
    Age
    33
    Posts
    4,486
    That's the card I'm running now. It is an AWESOME card.
    "Best to keep your mouth shut and be thought a fool than to open your mouth and remove all doubt."

    "Honesty is the First Chapter in the Book of Wisdom" - Thomas Jefferson

    Desktop:
    AMD Phenom II x6 1100T @ 3.3Ghz
    MSi 890FXA-GD70
    16GB G.Skill DDR3-1600
    Asus HD6950 2GB GDDR5 PCI-Ex16
    4x 1.5TB WD SATA w/64MB cache in RAID10
    2x Asus 22x DVD/CD +/-RW DL SATA
    Rosewill Xtreme Series 950W PSU
    2x 23" 5ms Asus Widescreen LCD
    Laptop:
    15" Aluminum MacBook Pro
    Intel Core 2 Duo 2.53Ghz
    4GB DDR3 @ 1067MHz
    320GB SATA 7200RPM HDD

    **View My Forum**

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    2,763
    whats your aquamark3 score with that thing.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    192.168.10.100
    Age
    33
    Posts
    4,486
    Here is my 3dMark05 score.

    I'll have to DL aquamark3 to do a bench from there.

    Another reason to get my card, Look towards the bottom of my 3dMark score...at the "Submits from popular graphics cards (last 30 days)"

    'Nuff Said.
    "Best to keep your mouth shut and be thought a fool than to open your mouth and remove all doubt."

    "Honesty is the First Chapter in the Book of Wisdom" - Thomas Jefferson

    Desktop:
    AMD Phenom II x6 1100T @ 3.3Ghz
    MSi 890FXA-GD70
    16GB G.Skill DDR3-1600
    Asus HD6950 2GB GDDR5 PCI-Ex16
    4x 1.5TB WD SATA w/64MB cache in RAID10
    2x Asus 22x DVD/CD +/-RW DL SATA
    Rosewill Xtreme Series 950W PSU
    2x 23" 5ms Asus Widescreen LCD
    Laptop:
    15" Aluminum MacBook Pro
    Intel Core 2 Duo 2.53Ghz
    4GB DDR3 @ 1067MHz
    320GB SATA 7200RPM HDD

    **View My Forum**

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    192.168.10.100
    Age
    33
    Posts
    4,486
    Well, I can't run an aquamark3 as it crashes my computer just like TDU and COD4....ati3duag.dll BSOD. It seems to be a widespread issue, and hopefully after the monthly driver release this week it will be fixed...
    "Best to keep your mouth shut and be thought a fool than to open your mouth and remove all doubt."

    "Honesty is the First Chapter in the Book of Wisdom" - Thomas Jefferson

    Desktop:
    AMD Phenom II x6 1100T @ 3.3Ghz
    MSi 890FXA-GD70
    16GB G.Skill DDR3-1600
    Asus HD6950 2GB GDDR5 PCI-Ex16
    4x 1.5TB WD SATA w/64MB cache in RAID10
    2x Asus 22x DVD/CD +/-RW DL SATA
    Rosewill Xtreme Series 950W PSU
    2x 23" 5ms Asus Widescreen LCD
    Laptop:
    15" Aluminum MacBook Pro
    Intel Core 2 Duo 2.53Ghz
    4GB DDR3 @ 1067MHz
    320GB SATA 7200RPM HDD

    **View My Forum**

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    2,763
    try installing drivers without CCC, or disable the ati tray application in the control panel and do screen adjustments/settings directly from the display properties advanced tab.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    192.168.10.100
    Age
    33
    Posts
    4,486
    Nope...They were installed without it....nothing gets changed via CCC anyways...I do it all from windows display properties...didn't help.

    I've been through everything. Tried Omega drivers, tried older versions..DNA for XP isn't out...etc etc...Nothing worked...
    "Best to keep your mouth shut and be thought a fool than to open your mouth and remove all doubt."

    "Honesty is the First Chapter in the Book of Wisdom" - Thomas Jefferson

    Desktop:
    AMD Phenom II x6 1100T @ 3.3Ghz
    MSi 890FXA-GD70
    16GB G.Skill DDR3-1600
    Asus HD6950 2GB GDDR5 PCI-Ex16
    4x 1.5TB WD SATA w/64MB cache in RAID10
    2x Asus 22x DVD/CD +/-RW DL SATA
    Rosewill Xtreme Series 950W PSU
    2x 23" 5ms Asus Widescreen LCD
    Laptop:
    15" Aluminum MacBook Pro
    Intel Core 2 Duo 2.53Ghz
    4GB DDR3 @ 1067MHz
    320GB SATA 7200RPM HDD

    **View My Forum**

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •